Western Australia

Meet your WA committee and visit their website here.

Convenor and National Co-Patron

Victoria Laurie

Victoria Laurie is a senior journalist and feature writer with The Australian, in the Perth bureau.

She has worked in TV, on radio and for magazines including The Bulletin, HQ, Australian Geographic, and The Weekend Australian magazine.

She is a founding member of Women in Media and its national co-patron with Caroline Jones.

Committee Member

Miriam Borthwick

Following years as a reporter on ABC TV News and The 7.30 Report, as it was then called, Miriam Borthwick worked in radio and freelanced for a raft of organisations in strategic communications while she and her husband raised a family.

At UWA, she established a media training course for students and academics and still consults to senior executives assisting them in external communications and in managing issues in the media.

Having completed the AICD’s Company Directors’ Course, she sits on a number of government and not-for-profit boards including Lotterywest, Healthway, Rocky Bay and the Hale School Foundation.

She works part-time at the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research, facilitates panel discussions on current issues, supports a philanthropic program that provides the sport of rowing to teenagers in low socio-economic areas and has been involved in WIM since its very early days in Perth.

Committee Member

Erin Broderick

Erin Broderick is a media and communications professional with more than 20 years’ experience across a range of sectors including working with not-for-profits and government agencies.

Broderick has also tutored in public relations at a tertiary level for a number of years.

She has been a member of the Women in Media WA committee for the past couple of years.

Committee Member

Rosanna Candler

Rosanna Candler started her career as a community news journalist writing for the Western Suburbs Weekly and helping manage the group-wide social media.

From there, Candler reported for The West Australian, worked in the not-for-profit sector as a communications coordinator, and is currently the Student Engagement Officer managing all internal and external communications at the McCusker Centre for Citizenship at the University of WA.

She also sits on the Raine Study community advisory committee.

Candler joined the Women in Media WA committee in 2014, took a short break from 2017 to 2018 to complete her teaching diploma before returning in 2019.

Committee Member

Syan Dougherty

Syan Dougherty started her career writing for Fashion Voyeur magazine, producing ABC radio and working as a video journalist for GWN7 news.

She joined Channel 7’s Today Tonight in 2014, where she reports on a wide range of local, national and international stories.

Committee Member

Di Ingelse

Di Ingelse has spent more than 40 years in both the public and private sectors, with a background in broadcasting, marketing, communications and public relations.

For the past 13 years, she has worked in state art galleries and museums.

Although supposedly retired, Ingelse now takes on short-term contracts in marketing, PR and communications as well as being on committees/boards for several not-for-profit organisations, and wonders how she ever had time to go to work!

She has been on the Women in Media WA committee since 2012.

Committee Member

Deborah Leavitt

Deborah Leavitt has 25 years’ experience of media leadership and building high performance teams.

She began her radio career in Boston with National Public Radio before moving to Australia in 1988, where she produced radio programs and podcasts in Perth and Melbourne for the ABC.

She made the move from content making to management in 2005 taking the helm at ABC Local Radio in Western Australia for 10 years before moving to Sydney in 2013 to become ABC Radio National Manager.

Leavitt is a Fulbright Scholar selector, loves meeting people and talking about big ideas, books to read as well as radio programs and podcasts that are a must listen.

Committee Member

Alison Middleton

Alison Middleton is the Digital Editor of Community News Group in Perth. Originally from Scotland, she has 20 years’ experience in breaking news and communications.

The former editor of PerthNow and afternoon digital editor at the Herald Sun, she also likes to write about wine.

Middleton joined the Women in Media WA Committee in 2019.

Committee Member

Marnie McKimmie

Marnie McKimmie is a multi-award winning journalist who has worked in the WA media industry for 35 years.

McKimmie began with the Albany Advertiser and then Community Newspapers, before moving to The West Australian where she spent more than 30 years, mostly specialising in health.

As a recipient of a Sir James Cruthers Fellowship, she also spent three months working at newspapers in the USA.

She has also been a journalism tutor at Edith Cowan University.

Committee Member

Nikkita Tassone

Nikkita Tassone is a final year university student in Communications and Media and Commerce at the University of Notre Dame.

She is also a Student Ambassador and is undertaking a content and digital marketing internship with Scoop Digital.

She has been a member of the Women in Media WA committee since 2017.

Committee Member

Jessica Warriner

Jessica Warriner is a reporter for Community News in Perth, where she covers local politics, health, education, courts and more. She also presents the Saturday breakfast show at RTRFM.

Warriner previously worked in New York City for Gothamist, a local news blog, and has had her words and photos published in the New York Times, The Guardian and Time Out.

She has been on the Women in Media WA Committee since 2017.