About Us

Women in Media is a nationwide initiative for women working in all facets of the media including journalism, media creation, publishing, public relations, corporate affairs, and digital marketing such as promotion, placement, optimisation, and analysis.

We are a not-for-profit industry body developed by and for women in media across Australia.

WiM exists to help women in media excel, learn, contribute, and connect.

Women in Media thrives as a result of the tremendous work of volunteers who run our state committees, act as mentors, and give their time as guest speakers.


To support women in media by:

  • creating opportunities and connections
  • contributing to career advancement and recognition
  • upskilling and providing access to resources through mentoring, industry programs and events
  • encouraging members to give back and act as mentors
  • collaborating with other media industry bodies and organisations


In 2005, Women in Media was founded in Western Australia by journalist and author Victoria Laurie in Western Australia. Her aim was to create a group devoted to supporting each other and carving out opportunities for women to network.

WA was the catalyst for a movement, which has spread across the country.

From 2013 to 2017 when Tracey Spicer AM was national convenor, WiM expanded to NSW, Queensland, Canberra, Victoria, and South Australia.

Since 2017, current co-chairs Kathy McLeish and Cath Webber have cemented WiM’s status as a national organisation with new branches established in the Northern Territory, Tasmania, and North Queensland.

Today, Women in Media is a thriving, voluntary organisation devoted to the mentoring and professional development of women in all branches of media.

Each state and territory branch organises events to discuss issues vitally important to our community and offer opportunities to network.

Since its infancy, mentoring has been a cornerstone of Women in Media. Today, WiM has joined forces with Brancher to create a innovative program offered in all states and territories.

While Women in Media has expanded from a single branch to a national organisation, the ethos has remained the same – to help women in media excel, learn, contribute, and connect.


National Patron

Victoria Laurie

Patron Emeritus

Caroline Jones, AO

Patron Emeritus

Caroline Jones

Patron Emeritus

Caroline Jones

The late Caroline Jones AO Hon DLitt (University Sunshine Coast; Hon DLitt (Sydney University) is Patron Emeritus of Women in Media.

She was a veteran journalist, author and broadcaster, who had a 50-year association with the ABC; working most recently with ABCTV Australian Story (1996-2016).

She was the first woman reporter on This Day Tonight (the first Australian national current affairs program, from 1968-72), and the first woman to anchor Four Corners (1972-81), concurrently with broadcasting on ABC Sydney morning radio.

She was a sponsor of the Mary MacKillop Tertiary Indigenous Scholarship Program, and on her retirement, the ABC created the ABC News Caroline Jones Indigenous Scholarship.

Caroline, who passed away in May 2022, has been named Patron Emeritus of Women in Media in recognition of her invaluable contribution to the organisation.


Women in Media has an all-female, voluntary board. Catherine Webber, Kathy McLeish, Anita Jacoby, Victoria Laurie, Danielle Cronin, and Sophie Robertson. A special thank you to Marina Go for taking on an advisory role.

State Convenors

WA: Victoria Laurie
NSW: Joanne Sanders and Skye Rugless
Queensland: Cathie Schnitzerling
ACT: Emma Macdonald
South Australia: Samela Harris
Victoria: Jane Canaway
Tasmania: Susan Bell